The Artist’s Way


91llw46qu-l

Tôi bắt đầu đọc The Artist’s Way và thực hành các bài tập của Julia Cameron từ ngày 2.5 cho đến khi kết thúc là vào ngày 24.7 năm nay. Trước khi kể lại những trải nghiệm của mình trong suốt 12 tuần đồng hành với The Artist’s Way, tôi muốn khẳng định rằng bản thân tôi không phải là người thích đọc sách thuộc thể loại kĩ năng hay sống đẹp. Tôi không thích việc một người thành công trong lĩnh vực nào đó viết sách và bảo với mọi người rằng hãy làm giống họ thì mới có cơ may thành công. Tôi cũng không thích việc người ta viết sách và bảo rằng phải sống như thế nào đó mới có được hạnh phúc. Tôi không thích tách biệt hạnh phúc và nỗi buồn, thành công và thất bại như hai khía cạnh đối lập nhau một cách cực đoan như vậy. Tôi không thích khi người ta chia cuộc sống thành hai tổ hợp đơn giản giữa tích cực và tiêu cực để rồi chỉ cố gắng chen chân vào cái gọi là tổ hợp tích cực. Tôi tin rằng trải nghiệm sống của mỗi người là hoàn toàn khác nhau với tính cách cá thể riêng biệt, không ai có thể sống thay cuộc đời của ai, hạnh phúc và thành công với người này chưa hẳn là điều người khác mong muốn hay thật sự cần. Vì vậy, khi biết rằng The Artist’s Way là một quyển sách gần với dạng sách kĩ năng: sách hướng dẫn nghệ sĩ tìm lại cảm hứng, niềm tin yêu vào chính mình để tiếp tục sáng tạo; tôi đã cảm thấy không mặn mà lắm với việc thưởng thức quyển sách này. Tuy vậy, trong hai khóa học về kịch bản phim mà tôi theo đuổi từ cuối năm ngoái, cả hai thầy cô là chị Kay Nguyễn và anh Vũ Ánh Dương đều khuyến khích học viên đọc quyển The Artist’s Way. Do đó, tôi đã đọc thử tuần thứ nhất của quyển sách.

Điều ấn tượng đầu tiên của tôi đối với The Artist’s Way là: không như những quyển sách kĩ năng khác – vốn thường chỉ là tập hợp những bài tiểu luận, những câu chuyện hay lí thuyết suông; ở đây, Cameron rất cẩn thận trong việc đưa ra từng bài tập thực hành cụ thể cho từng tuần. Bà đặt ra một tiến trình để hồi phục cơ chế sáng tạo có vẻ như rất bài bản. Lời giới thiệu về quyển sách và bài tiểu luận trong tuần đầu tiên khiến tôi có cảm tình khá tốt về bà. Những lời bà viết không cho tôi cảm giác khó chịu khi bị bắt phải suy nghĩ như thế này hoặc thế kia, phải làm theo như thế này hay thế nọ thì mới mong hồi phục lại tâm trí. Để nhấn mạnh hiệu quả của phương pháp The Artist’s Way, lẽ đương nhiên, Cameron cũng viết những dòng ta có thể dễ dàng bắt gặp ở các cuốn sách kĩ năng khác về việc bà đã chán nản như thế nào rồi thành công như thế nào, có bao nhiêu người theo khóa học của bà đã thành công, bây giờ họ đang làm gì… Tuy vậy, tôi hoàn toàn thông cảm và bỏ qua cho bà những dòng mang tính chất PR cho quyển sách, cho phương pháp The Artist’s Way bởi lẽ khi chăm chỉ làm những bài tập bà giao mỗi tuần, phần nào đó, tôi đã thực sự khám phá thêm một số điều về bản thân mình; thậm chí, trong một khoảng thời gian ngắn, tôi còn tìm lại được cảm giác thanh thản mà đã lâu lắm rồi tôi không có được.

The Artist’s Way không phải là quyển sách kĩ năng bạn có thể đọc hết một mạch trong một hoặc hai ngày cho xong như những sách kĩ năng thông thường khác. Nội dung cơ bản của The Artist’s Way chia thành 12 phần cho 12 tuần với mỗi tuần là một nhóm bài tiểu luận bàn về những chướng ngại tâm lí mà nghệ sĩ thường mắc phải trong quá trình sáng tạo; sau phần tiểu luận sẽ là phần bài tập nho nhỏ (tasks) để bạn thực hiện trong tuần đó. Bên cạnh phần bài tập mỗi tuần, The Artist’s Way có hai bài tập lớn, hoặc có thể gọi là hai nhiệm vụ lớn bắt buộc người tham gia phải cam kết thực hiện đều đặn là morning page journal (những trang viết theo dòng ý thức vào buổi sáng ngay khi vừa tỉnh dậy), artist date (một ngày trong tuần bạn dành khoảng hai, ba tiếng hoặc nhiều hơn để thỏa mãn nhu cầu tận hưởng nghệ thuật, tận hưởng cuộc sống cho đứa trẻ bên trong bạn). Cuối mỗi tuần còn có phần Check-in (kiểm tra): phần này bao gồm những câu hỏi để bạn nhìn lại quá trình thực hành The Artist’s Way trong suốt một tuần, để bạn nhận ra còn vấn đề nào chưa giải quyết được hay đang gây trở ngại đến quá trình phục hồi sự sáng tạo của bạn. Cấu trúc của The Artist’s Way được chia ra rất rõ ràng như thế. Vì vậy, mỗi tuần bạn chỉ có thể đọc phần dành cho tuần đó và làm bài thực hành. Chính bởi điều này, khi đọc The Artist’s Way, tôi không có cảm giác như mình chỉ đơn thuần đọc một quyển sách, tôi có cảm giác như mình đang thực sự theo đuổi một khóa học online nào đó, chỉ là khóa học này không phải thông qua kết nối mạng mà là thông qua những trang sách. Việc Cameron vạch ra từng nhiệm vụ cụ thể cần làm cho mỗi tuần cũng phần nào đó khiến tôi có cảm giác bà như một người mẹ chu đáo, khi phải xa nhà, bà sợ các con ở nhà không biết làm gì nên đã dặn dò rất chi li trong từng tuần bà vắng mặt, chúng phải làm điều gì để tìm niềm vui trong cuộc sống. Tôi thật sự không hề cố tình phóng đại thứ cảm giác này. Ban đầu, đó chỉ là điều tôi mơ hồ cảm nhận mà không biết phải diễn tả như thế nào, nhưng càng đọc đến cuối quyển sách, tôi càng nhận ra đó chính xác là thứ cảm giác ấy trong sự hướng dẫn tỉ mỉ các việc cần làm của bà. Có thể nói, Julia Cameron là một tác giả rất có trách nhiệm, bà không hề có hành động “đem con bỏ chợ” đối với độc giả của mình. Dưới đây, tôi sẽ viết lại cảm nhận của mình khi thực hiện từng phần nhiệm vụ bà giao.

Morning page journal

artist_way_review_be

Morning page có lẽ là nhiệm vụ khó khăn nhất với tôi khi theo đuổi “khóa học” The Artist’s Way bởi tôi vốn là một người không có thói quen viết nhật kí mỗi ngày. Vậy mà giờ đây, tôi phải viết morning page mỗi ngày trong suốt ba tháng. Hơn nữa, điều quan trọng là phải viết vào buổi sáng, khi vừa tỉnh dậy và chưa trải qua bất cứ việc nào trong ngày, việc này rất khác với khi bạn viết nhật kí vào buổi tối. Cameron yêu cầu người tham gia phải viết ba trang morning page vào buổi sáng vì bà cho rằng khi chúng ta mới vừa tỉnh dậy, bật khỏi giường là đã viết thì những gì chúng ta viết lúc đó không chịu sự kiểm duyện của Kẻ Phán Xét bên trong chúng ta. Bằng cách buông thả bản thân viết theo dòng ý thức, khi đó, có thể ta sẽ vô tình nhận ra một số vấn đề trở ngại tâm lí của mình; hoặc nếu không, hành động này đơn giản là một cách xả rác cảm xúc trong tiềm thức để khởi đầu một ngày mới đầy hứng khởi. Ngay khi đọc về nhiệm vụ này, tôi đã cảm thấy rất muốn làm và duy trì nó đều đặn. Tuy vậy, đây cũng là nhiệm vụ tôi sợ mình sẽ không thể duy trì sự đều đặn nhất vì muốn viết nó thì phải dậy thật sớm để viết khoảng 30 phút trước giờ đi làm. Kết quả là, trong suốt 12 tuần, tôi nhận thấy bản thân cũng đã viết khá đều đặn morning page. Có những tuần tôi viết đủ cả bảy ngày. Cũng có những tuần tôi viết bốn hoặc năm ngày. Hiếm khi nào trong tuần tôi bỏ viết quá ba ngày. Từ lúc bắt đầu viết morning page vào ngày 2.5 cho đến khi kết thúc vào ngày 24.7, tôi đã viết hết hai quyển sổ tay và lấn sang quyển thứ ba một chút. Khi nhìn lại thành quả của mình trong suốt gần ba tháng, tôi không thể tin nổi mình đã làm được điều đó, đã có thể viết được nhiều và khá đều đặn như thế vào mỗi sáng. Tôi phải thừa nhận rằng những tuần đầu tiên là những tuần tôi hứng thú với morning page nhiều nhất; tuy nhiên, những tuần gần cuối là những tuần tôi lại muốn kết thúc nó nhanh chóng nhất để có thể bắt tay vào làm ngay những kế hoạch dự định.

Tháng 5 là tháng có rất nhiều chuyện buồn với tôi, nhiều thứ khiến tôi nhận thấy mình cần phải xem xét lại bản thân. Cũng chính vì quá buồn mà trong kì nghỉ lễ dài ngày nhân dịp 30.4, tôi đã quyết định sẽ thử nghiệm liệu pháp The Artist’s Way để xem tâm lí bản thân có ổn hơn chút nào không. Và trong những tuần đầu tiên, morning page đã giúp tôi khuây khỏa rất nhiều. Tôi viết ra những điều mình buồn ngày hôm trước hoặc lo nghĩ cho ngày hôm đó. Tôi ghi lại tóm tắt những giấc mơ của mình, một số suy nghĩ vụn vặt thoáng qua. Viết morning page giúp tôi nhận ra mình đã rời xa văn học và những quyển sách quá lâu, dù tôi rất yêu điện ảnh nhưng khi nhận thức được bản thân mình không đọc bất kì quyển sách nào suốt từ đầu tháng hai đến tận cuối tháng tám cũng khiến tôi bị trầm cảm không ít. Khi không dành thời gian xứng đáng cho những quyển sách cần phải đọc, tôi cảm thấy mình ngu dốt đi rất nhiều. Việc tôi ít đọc trong năm nay hơn hẳn những năm trước là điều tôi đã nhận ra mà không cần viết morning page. Nhưng đến khi viết morning page, tôi mới thấy rõ nỗi buồn khi ít đọc tạo ra cảm giác tự ti và thua kém đã ảnh hưởng đến tâm lí tôi nặng nề như thế nào. Tôi rất yêu việc mình chăm chỉ xem phim và viết review phim suốt từ tháng hai đến tháng tư – đó là khoảng thời gian tôi viết review phim nhiều nhất từ trước đến nay. Nhưng đồng thời, khi việc đó lấy đi khá nhiều thời gian đọc sách của tôi, một nỗi buồn thầm lặng đã dần len lỏi trong tâm thức tôi. Tôi không phải là người có thể làm nhiều việc cùng một lúc. Nếu dành thời gian cho điện ảnh, tôi sẽ lơ là văn học và ngược lại. Nhờ viết morning page, cuối cùng tôi đã đi đến quyết định rằng sẽ tạm dừng việc xem phim và viết review bắt đầu từ tháng 9 để dành toàn bộ khoảng thời gian còn lại cuối năm cho văn học. Tôi đã rời xa văn học và việc cập nhật tri thức thông qua sách vở quá lâu rồi. Tôi không thể chịu đựng nổi nữa. Tôi phải tạm dừng lại nếu muốn viết ra điều gì đó mới hơn, hay hơn và sâu hơn. Trong những quyển sách tôi lên kế hoạch để đọc, có cả những sách giáo khoa về điện ảnh. Điều đó có nghĩa là tôi không hoàn toàn rời xa điện ảnh vào những tháng cuối năm nay mà chỉ là tiếp cận nó ở một khía cạnh khác. Tôi muốn đọc thêm càng nhiều sách điện ảnh càng tốt để tiếp thu những kiến thức điện ảnh mà tôi chưa biết, để tôi có một cái nhìn sâu hơn khi xem phim, để tôi viết review hay hơn và mang lại nhiều điều bổ ích hơn cho những người đã dành thời gian quí báu của mình để đọc những gì tôi viết. Tôi muốn mình viết hay hơn và tôi cũng không muốn người đọc mình phải chịu thiệt thòi khi đã bỏ thời gian, một phần thị lực của mắt để đọc nhưng lại không tìm được bất kì điều hữu ích nào. Morning page đã cho tôi sự kiên định để dứt khoát tạm chia tay thú vui xem phim và viết review.

Tóm lại, nhờ có morning page, nhờ có việc tự tâm tình với bản thân vào mỗi sáng, tôi đã sống sót qua những ngày hè cô đơn, lặng lẽ của năm nay. Trong nỗi buồn đó và trong những dòng chữ rỉ rả truyền từ ngòi bút xuống trang giấy mỗi sáng đó, dần dần tôi đã nhận ra một số vấn đề của bản thân mình và có lẽ phần nào đó, tôi bắt đầu tìm được ý chí để thoát khỏi nó. Dưới đây, tôi sẽ trích một số đoạn trong morning page của tôi mà tôi có thể chia sẻ với mọi người.

May 8th 2016

tumblr_nyyn9bexb51u79s9qo1_1280
Illustrated by Kate Zakrzewska

Yesterday, I dreamed a weird dream. In that dream, my house was expanded… There was a stubborn worker in my dad’s garage. He want to be paid for a higher money but my dad didn’t approve it. He revenged for that by burning some books in our house. He said that we were Jew, were foolish, we had no right to improve our knowledge, he burnt book for us to be dull forever. Well, my eyes are somehow tired now. But I sleep enough. It’s 11 am now. Enough 8 hours. Lost Sunday morning already. When I wrote Sunday morning, suddenly I remember the song with the same name by Maroon 5. Some words from lyric and melody came into my mind. “Sunday morning, rain is falling…” It is a peaceful Sunday morning in that song. But now, it is so hot in Saigon. Everybody seems to complain for it, they don’t like when it’s hot too much. But it’s so okay to me because I easily get sick when it rains or when I am stucked in a rain.

May 12th 2016  

tumblr_nzf9abr1uw1u79s9qo1_1280
Illustrated by Kate Zakrzewska

I don’t know what to do with my life now. Everything seems to be so vague. I just float in the middle of nowhere. I don’t know where I belong to. I just keep going day by day from one place to another place in my mind. Yesterday, I said something bad about literatue. I really love literature so much, why did I say bad thing about it? Maybe, it was just because of my headache, but maybe it was my real thought somehow. I love literature but sometime it’s like my spouse and music is my lover, cinema is my ideal lover – a dream that can’t become true. We often don’t respect our spouse as much as our lover and worship as much as ideal lover. But our spouse is the person who be always with ourself, support ourself no matter what happens; therefore, they are worth loving more. I want to love literature more than now, more and more, spend more time for it but I didn’t read any book for four months. It makes me feel so sad because I left literature for a long time like that. From the beginning of this year until now, I spent mainly time for film and  music: watching and review film (takes a lot of time), playing instrument (but no music piece was completed). Everything is so sad and beautiful, everything passed with the atmosphere of nostalgia, melancholy, everything was in slow pace. How I can continue these days living like that?

May 16th 2016

1448934358-66-org

Yesterday, I dreamed of Song Hye Kyo. It’s not something hard to explain. These days, I have thought of her so much. But I don’t understand why I dreamed that she came to Vietnam for the program named “Fairy tale world”. This program was organized by HTV and broadcasted by VTV. She was the host in the special show of that program. It was about children, story about those who had difficulty in life, maybe they were poor or they were unable to do something because of heavy illness or handicapped. She told the story about them so gently with her Chinese friend co-host. She had beautiful, innocent eyes. She looked so simple that day. It was the first time she came to Vietnam. But in reality, she didn’t visit Vietnam even just for once. Now, by writing that dream like this, I somehow can understand why I dreamed that dream. It was the mix of few stories that I had been through lately. Song Hye Kyo, she is clearly one of people that I have thought most recent days. The heavy-illed children or handicapped – I had recorded film at Oncology hospital last week. The program about the children is the program that Hye Kyo joined and posted in on her Instagram. My brain combined these datas when I dreamed by its way. Brain is so weird and so wonderful. It’s still mysterious to people now. I wonder that someday human can understand the manipulating method of their own brain.

May 20th 2016

20140624201818_4725
Illustrated by Atsushi Fukui

New day, new day, new day. It’s a new day and it’s also an old day. I walk into sadness. My forehead has more pimples. I walk into tiredness. I have always blamed and been blamed myself for being too lazy. Now, I want to give up all. Sometimes, I think being lazy is okay. I don’t know what to do with my life anymore. Therefore, I also don’t know what to write in morning page too. Previous days, it was easy for me to write. I have had something in my mind and I just wrote it out. But today, I have nothing in my mind. Everything is just empty…

“Somewhere over the rainbow, blue birds fly. And the dream that you dreamed of will become true…”

Suddenly, the melody and lyrics of Somewhere over the rainbow from The wizard of Oz comes to my mind. I miss the time I watched it. I miss the time I watched so many musical film. I miss that time so much. It was my first year in university. The days of youth. Days of being wild. I want to watch so many films in short period like I did in that time. I want to read many books in short period like I did in that time. I want to play as much as I did in that time. I want to comeback that time. I feel that I don’t want to do anything anymore. No work. No class. No exercise. No friend. No meeting. Just read and watch all day long. Then, gradually I can write. I want to improve my knowledge about literature. I want to finish many books in my bookshelf. Recent years, I have bought so many books. I just kept buying and buying without reading. Now, my bookshelf nearly has no book that I read. There are just books that I haven’t read yet. It hurts me when I think that if I die at the present or something happens to my bookshelf, my house that makes me can’t read them, it must be too wasted. What will they do with my bookshelf full of books that I haven’t read? Just thinking about it makes me sad. Therefore, I have to try to read as much as possible when I’m still alive. I feel so sleepy now. I fell asleep a little bit while writing these lines. I have to write as fast as possible before the sleeping comes to me again. Before the sorrow, before the last, before the loneliness, what can I do to prepare for it? We can prepare for anything in life, I know. But this emptiness while using English to write morning page will stay with me forever. I start to miss Vietnamese – my native language. I start to miss the way of writing it and how I felt right after writing in Vietnamese. But I want to move on no matter how hard it is. I wrote morning page in English so easily on the previous days. I don’t know why today it becomes hard a little bit. Maybe, it’s because I’m tired, sleepy. Furthermore, I’m worry about tomorrow filming.

May 23rd 2016

65whmzc

New week again. I start to feel bored with morning page. After three weeks, now I don’t want to write it anymore. But I have to. I don’t want to give up. I want to follow recovery progress of Julia Cameron until the end. I want to have experience. Yesterday, I watched Time Renegades by Kwak Jae Young. He is my favorite director. I watched his movie right on his birthday but I didn’t know. This morning, when I read his profile, I just know that he was born on May 22nd – yesterday was his birthday. So surprised. So meaningful. I didn’t know why I wanted to watch Time Renegades that much, I didn’t want to delay it anymore. I chose to watch it eventhough there were still many things for me to finish. And I’m not regret now. It’s such a good film. Like his previous films, Time Renegades also touched me at some point. I found the familiar atmosphere in Daisy, The classic. Kwak Jae Young is good director. He has so many films that maybe become “classic” in Korean commercial romantic film. His films are easy to watch, easy to feel, but not easy to forget. Until now, I still miss the feeling when I watched My sassy girl, Windstruck, Cyborg she, Daisy, The classic… I wonder why he is such a romantic man like that. His stories are sweet, cliché and not too cliché at the same time, old and new interwaven. I have loved his style since I was a junior highschool pupil when I watched My sassy girl, Windstruck. To me, discovering yesterday was his birthday and I watched his film on his birthday is such a wonderful thing to start today.

June 6th 2016

peter-outerbridge-and-molly-parker-in-kissed-1996

Everything just keeps going on like that day by day. The solitude keeps increasing, not decreasing for a little bit. The sky is bluer. The cloud is greyer. The sunlight is faded out. Is there anything fading in my life? I guess there won’t be but I hope there will. Suddenly, I remember the film called Kissed. Maybe that man had no purpose for his life. Then, he met her. She was his only love, his purpose to live for and to die for. I think that man didn’t have confidence of himself too. Or I can say it reverse, he was too confident of himself, he believed that she still loved him after he died. That’s the reason why he chose death. Maybe, someday me too…

June 11th 2016

Why are there too many people watching movie with their prejudice? I don’t want to argue with them anymore. I will silently update my knowledge about film, watch Oscar, Cannes, Art House films… as much as possible to have more insight view about film. But I won’t change my mind about commercial film. I think each kind of film has its different purpose, audience target… There are films made for us to feel. Another film to think. Another film to analyze. Another film to be touched. Another film just simply to relax… I want to accept them all. I want to accept its diversity just like life, human…

June 14th 2016

13166682_1034042663336588_1390496536_n

I couldn’t sleep last night. I stayed up all night and just started to sleep at 6:00 am… There is no scene in The Conjuring 2 haunted me. But the image of Demonic Nun or Valak just came into my mind whenever I closed my eyes. Therefore, I couldn’t sleep because I kept closing and then opening my eyes continually. But I really like The Conjuring 2. I like it even more than The Conjuring 1. I like it because of the performance of Madison Wolfe in Janet Hodgson. She is really beautiful in The Conjuring 2. She looks like young Natalie Portman too much. To be more detail, I have to admit that she looks like Mathilda of Natalie Portman so much. She made me feel empathized with her acting. Poor Janet! How lovely she was. Eventhough I was so scared sometimes, I was still excited to watch it to see her more. I was eager to watch the scenes within her appearance in The Conjuring 2. I want to watch The Conjuring 2 to find the feeling of being scared, being haunted, being desperate just like The Conjuring 1 again. But somewhere in my mind, the reason I watch The Conjuring 2 maybe just because of Madison. When I watch The Conjuring 2 trailer, her scared face made me feel that she was so lonely. Her eyes were so sad. I was absorbed into her sad eyes. I want to watch that child more. I had the intuition that she was somehow like Mathilda in Léon. And I’m not wrong. There was even the scene that she tried to smoke just like an adult in The Conjuring 2. That action also reminded me of Mathilda. She was so beautiful. She was so beautiful. She was so beautiful. I couldn’t keep myself from repeating these words in my mind whenever she appeared on the screen with her sad eyes, soft smiles with many indescribable feeling on her face. She has the talent. I hope that she will be great actress when she grows up. And I believe that she will become beautiful girl, then beautiful woman. The figure of her face is so beautiful.

June 15th 2016

Why does everyday just keep going forward like this? Why doesn’t it stop even just for a single moment? I want to close my eyes right now, feel the atmosphere, feel the harmony of nature with hope that everything will recover in its natural system.

June 21st 2016

holding-lana-del-rey

In Lana’s Honeymoon album, I like so many songs. One of the songs I like is Religion. The lyric is so beautiful. I really like it. “Everything is fine now. Let sleeping dogs lay… No need to survive now. All we do is play, all I hear is music like Lay Lady Lay… Cause you’re my religion. You’re how I’m living. When all my friends say I should take some space. Well I can’t envision, that for a minute. When I’m down on my knees, you’re how I pray. Hallelujah, I need your love. Hallelujah, I need your love…” Well, it’s so impressive when someone compares love with religion. To me, I think art is my religion. Because I love art so much, art is my love, my life, my breath, my air, my sky, my everything… Therefore, art becomes my religion. But the girl in Lana’s song or Lana herself considers her lover as her religion. This comparison makes me feel her love. I will let myself listen to three songs of hers with earphone today at my company. It will be Religion, Shades of cool, Sad girl (or Without you). I love Lana’s music so much… To night, when I come home, I will watch Lana’s liveshow. I don’t know whether there is any liveshow of hers that I haven’t watched yet but I will try to find any liveshow published on Youtube that its length is around or more than 1 hour 30 minutes. I really miss the time when I watched her singing too much. Since I went to work, I haven’t had so many free time to watch her singing on Youtube anymore. But I have always listened to her music whenever she released her new albums, whenever I missed her music, whenever I missed her voice, whenever I’m sad. Maybe, somehow she becomes my religion too, because she is an artist, true artist, she is art in me. I don’t know in future whether I can become someone’s religion, someone’s art, whether I can inspire someone to make art or even just love art more. Can I? Can I? I want to make the world I currently live more beautiful, more love, more art. If I want to do that, I have to be more diligent, not to be lazy anymore. Don’t be lazy, myself. Don’t be lazy.

June 22nd 2016

sky-2-copy-behance

I am blue. I am free. I am the sky, the sea. You always have me whenever you look up outside. You always have me eventhough sometimes you can’t realize that I’m still here. I’m here for you. The sky and the sea. The sky is for whenever you’re sad. The sea is for whenever you want to have fun with your friends or alone by yourself; sometimes, when you are sad too. I’m always here for you.

June 23rd 2016

060

Yesterday, I watched The Exorcist with my brother. The film is not so scary as I imagined. It’s also not touching me too. I liked Ellen Burstyn in Requiem for a dream but in The Exorcist, her appearance disturbed me so much that I suddenly turned out to hate her. She dramatized her acting too much with her voice, her face emotion. I couldn’t endure her acting. I wanted the screen to change in someone’s appearance whenever her face was on the screen… Therefore, I hate Ellen Burstyn in The Exorcist so much. To me, she couldn’t express the pain of the mother whose daughter’s soul was possessed by the demon. Linda Blair was really cute before she was possessed. I feel sorry since she just had only one impressive role in all her acting life. I realize she really had talent in The Exorcist. Or maybe she is the actress for one role. She was born to act Reegan. This character is only fit for her.

June 24th 2016

frank-sinatra-1061529d9d01ffb9e7be96e515427a82-large-956694

“The way you hold my hand. The way we dance till three. The way you change my life. No, no, they can’t take that away from me. No, they can’t take that away from me.”

This morning, the melody and lyric of They can’t take that away from me just resounded in my mind again and again. I have listened this song since a long time with many versions by many singers. There are versions that I like so much but I don’t know why I specially like the version sung by Frank Sinatra. I like his funny singing. This song is full of happy atmosphere. Everyone sang it with funny singing. So why do I really like Frank Sinatra’s version? Maybe it’s because I not only feel that this is the mood of the man who is happy with his love but I also feel a little bit of his anxiety about his future with the one he loves; I can feel his hope, his optimism and his strength to hide his fear. After all, this song is still a happy song. I have listened to Frank Sinatra’s album since a long time, I can’t remember when I start to listen The best of Frank Sinatra album but I’m sure it was a long time ago. At that time, I found it was hard to listen to his whole album, to listen Jazz. At that time, I didn’t like Jazz. In fact, I wanted to like it, to listen to it like everyone else but I couldn’t. I just could listen and like My way – the song that I think it’s the most popular song of Sinatra and also the easiest song to listen, to feel. But as time goes by, everything changes now. I have loved Jazz so much recent years. It’s easy for me now to listen to Jazz. I can listen to Frank Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald, Lisa Ekdahl, Nirah Jones, Cole Porter… But I’m sad that I haven’t felt it’s easy to listen to Duke Ellington yet. Surely, I will try to listen to his music someday. I’m just accustomed to listening Jazz song with vocal, I still can’t listen to instrumental Jazz. Well, I finally like Frank Sinatra’s album now eventhough I listened it for the first time long time ago. It’s not only My way anymore. I like Stranger in the night, They can’t take that away from me, La is my lady, The girl from Ipanema, I have got you under my skin, That’s life, Something stupid, It was a very good year, I get a kick out of you, Love and Marriage, The lady is a tramp… Well I like most of his songs. I’m glad that I can listen to Jazz now. My range of enjoying music is broaden now. It’s not only Pop like my highschool time anymore. Now I can listen to Jazz, classic, Pop rock, New Age… I’m happy because of that.

July 14th 2016

I want to write something about “U-turn” of East Sea. In last two days, Vietnamese netizens have been in chaos with this event. So many Chinese idols have shared the information that they don’t agree with the result, East Sea belongs to them, they wrote the slogan: “This is China. Even just one point can’t be lost. One inch can’t be shared.” Well, Vietnamese fan of Chinese idols immediately unlike fanpage, unfollow them. Besides, there were still some who hadn’t shared yet. Therefore, some fans are still waiting for them. They wait in anxiety. If their idols share any information about U-turn, they have to stop follow the one that they loved. This thing makes them in dilemma. I sympathize with them so much. This atmosphere reminds me of March 2011. At that time, there was a big tsunami, earthquake happened at Fukushima. I checked the information and the name of Japanese artists that I like so many timesto ensure that they were still alright. The thing that Vietnamese fans have done for two last days somehow reminds me of that old thing. The way they checked their idol’s weibos, the way they stayed up all night to do it, the way they have to bear their conflict between idol and country in their mind is really cute. They made me surprised. I didn’t expect them too much. But after this event, I changed my mind. Observing their attitude, I think that there is hope for Vietnamese young generation. They can realize, acknowledge politic, their responsibility more than anyone can expect. “Anyone” in here I means that the Vietnames adults, who keep blaming the youth day by day because of their interest. Poor Vietnamese youth. I think they don’t do anything wrong. Everyone has their own youth. They can love whatever they love.

July 17th 2016

sekachu040827_102

I miss Sekachu. I miss Haruka. I miss Aki. I miss my youthful days too much.

“Something in the way she moves. Attracts me like no other lover. Something in the way she woos me…”

I wish I can turn back to that time. My university time. I want to live in that time again. I want to feel that atmosphere again. Such a wonderful time. Why can’t I turn back to that time? Why can’t I take a break even just a little bit? Why do I have to work day by day? Why do I have to work all the time? Because I’m an adult, because I grew up. Well, I can give me an answer but I just keep the same questions again and again.

Artist date

phantom-of-the-theatre

Việc tôi làm trong artist date mỗi tuần luôn là đến rạp xem phim một mình. Tôi không thay đổi hoạt động này suốt 12 tuần thực hành phương pháp The Artist’s Way. Ở phần Check-in của mỗi tuần, Cameron thường hay hỏi độc giả đã làm gì vào artist date và cảm thấy như thế nào? Câu trả lời của tôi luôn là đi xem phim và tôi cảm thấy bình thường. Cảm xúc của tôi trong artist date phụ thuộc vào chính cảm xúc bộ phim tôi xem mang đến cho tôi. Đáng tiếc là gần như 12 phim tôi chọn xem trong 12 buổi artist date không để lại nhiều ấn tượng trong tôi. Hai phim tôi xem và có cảm tình nhất là Phantom of the Theatre (Ma cung mị ảnh) Central Intelligence. Đây là hai phim giúp tôi có những giây phút thăng hoa cảm xúc thật tuyệt vời trong ngày artist date.

Tasks

13229
Julia Cameron

Tôi chỉ thực hiện khoảng 90% nhiệm vụ Cameron giao cho người đọc, có một số nhiệm vụ tôi bỏ qua vì cảm thấy không phù hợp với bản thân và điều kiện thực tế không cho phép. Lẽ đương nhiên, tôi rất hạn chế việc bỏ không làm nhiệm vụ nào đó bởi tinh thần chính của The Artist’s Way là khám phá bản thân bằng cách thử làm những việc trước đây bạn chưa bao giờ làm, nhiệm vụ nào bạn càng có cảm giác chống đối khi thoạt đọc qua mô tả về nó thì rất có thể chính việc thực hiện những nhiệm vụ đó sẽ khiến bạn nhận ra điều mới mẻ về bản thân. Tôi đã có được một số trải nghiệm vui vẻ mà nếu không thực hành các bài tập trong The Artist’s Way, có lẽ tôi đã không có được. Những nhiệm vụ tôi bỏ qua không thực hiện trong The Artist’s Way, cụ thể là:

Ở tuần 2:

Affirmative Reading: Every day, morning and night, get quiet and focused and read the Basic Principles to yourself (See page 3.) Be alert for any attitudinal shifts. Can you see yourself setting aside any skepticism yet?

Lí do: tôi không thích nhiệm vụ này vì tôi cảm thấy đây giống như một nghi thức tôn giáo. Tôi không thích việc khắc vào đầu một quan điểm nào đó cho dù nó là tích cực hay tiêu cực. Hơn nữa, tôi cũng không thích những điều trong Basic Principles. Có những nguyên lí, Cameron viết quá thiên về hướng tôn giáo và thần linh. Trong nghệ thuật, tôi thích tin vào bản thân mình hơn là cầu nguyện bất cứ một vị thần nào. Tôi muốn hoàn toàn độc lập khi sáng tạo.

Ở tuần 7:

Take yourself into a sacred space—a church, synagogue, library, grove of trees—and allow yourself to savor the silence and healing solitude. Each of us has a personal idea of what sacred space is. For me, a large clock store or a great aquarium store can engender a sense of timeless wonder. Experiment.

Lí do: tôi không biết đến nơi nào vừa có được sự yên tĩnh, vừa có thể chữa lành cảm giác cô đơn và bản thân tôi cho rằng đó là nơi thiêng liêng. Ở thành phố này, hầu như nơi nào cũng đông đúc hoặc có người, kể cả là chùa hay nhà thờ. Những nơi quá vắng vẻ thì không an toàn.

Ở tuần 11:

Buy yourself a special creativity notebook. Number pages one through seven. Give one page each to the following categories: health, possessions, leisure, relationships, creativity, career, and spirituality. With no thought as to practicality, list ten wishes in each area. All right, it’s a lot. Let yourself dream a little here.

Lí do: tôi đã thực hiện vế sau của nhiệm vụ này, tôi chỉ không thực hiện vế đầu là mua sổ tay vì tôi đã có khá nhiều quyển sổ vẫn chưa sử dụng đến. Ở nhiệm vụ này, tôi chỉ đơn giản là dùng quyển sổ tay viết morning page để thực hiện vế sau.

Ở tuần 12:

Select a God jar. A what? Ajar, a box, a vase, a container. Something to put your fears, your resentments, your hopes, your dreams, your worries into.

Use your God jar. Start with your fear list from Task I above. When worried, remind yourself it’s in the jar—“God’s got it.” Then take the next action.

Lí do: tôi không thích hành động mang tính chất tự kỉ ám thị như vậy. Với tôi, nó dễ nảy sinh nhiều điều tiêu cực hơn là tích cực. Lỡ đâu tôi sẽ tin tưởng vào quyền năng giả tưởng của chiếc hộp ấy đến mức một ngày nào đó, tôi sẽ trở nên vô cùng hụt hẫng, buồn bã, tuyệt vọng khi lỡ đánh mất nó? Tôi không muốn tạo thêm bất kì điều gì khác quan trọng ngoài mình vì tôi sợ phải giữ gìn nó, tôi sợ lỡ đánh mất nó.

Reread this book. Share it with a friend. Remember that the miracle is one artist sharing with another. Trust God. Trust yourself.

Lí do: Còn quá nhiều quyển sách tôi muốn đọc nhưng tôi chưa đọc, tôi không thể lãng phí thời gian để đọc một quyển sách hai lần trừ phi nó có điều gì đó rất đặc biệt khiến tôi thấy đọc một lần là không đủ, cần phải đọc thêm lần thứ hai để lĩnh hội điều gì đó sâu sắc hơn. Tôi khá thích The Artist’s Way của Julia Cameron. Trên trang Goodreads, tôi chấm cho quyển này là 3/5. Tuy vậy, tôi nhận thấy việc đọc The Artist’s Way một lần và cố gắng thực hiện tương đối đầy đủ nhiệm vụ của 12 tuần đã là quá đủ. Tôi chỉ thực hiện vế sau của nhiệm vụ bằng cách viết chính bài review này và tôi sẽ chia sẻ link download quyển sách ở cuối bài viết. Tôi không đặc biệt chia sẻ quyển sách này với bất kì người bạn nào vì tôi không rõ ai sẽ cần nó; hơn nữa, để đọc và thực hiện đầy đủ những nhiệm vụ trong The Artist’s Way thì bạn cần phải dành một khoảng thời gian nhất định cho nó. Vì vậy, tôi chia sẻ lại quyển sách này với tất cả mọi người.

Trong những nhiệm vụ của The Artist’s Way, có ba nhiệm vụ khó khăn nhất với tôi là:

Ở tuần 3:

Call a friend who treats you like you are a really good and bright person who can accomplish things. Part of your recovery is reaching out for support. This support will be critical as you undertake new risks.

Lí do: tôi hiếm khi chủ động liên lạc với ai dưới bất kì hình thức nào. Cho dù, tôi yêu mến một người như thế nào, tôi cũng sẽ hạn chế việc liên lạc ở mức thấp nhất. Tôi giữ cho mình liên lạc càng ít càng tốt với tất cả mọi người. Trước đây, tôi không tự đặt ra điều này và thực hiện nó nghiêm ngặt. Nhưng qua thời gian, sau rất nhiều chuyện xảy ra, tôi nhận thấy có những việc cần phải tự chống chọi, việc chia sẻ có thể sẽ không giải quyết được gì mà còn khiến bản thân thêm tuyệt vọng. Hơn nữa, tôi cũng dần quen với cảm giác một mình.

Ở tuần 6:

Communication: Send postcards to five friends. This is not a goody-two-shoes exercise. Send to people you would love to hear from.

Lí do: tôi khá ngại ngùng trong việc thể hiện tình cảm của bản thân mình. Tôi cũng chưa bao giờ gửi postcard cho bất kì ai. Ở thời buổi công nghệ thông tin hiện tại, hầu như mọi người không gửi postcard kiểu truyền thống nữa. Suy đi tính lại, để thực hiện nhiệm vụ này, tôi quyết định sẽ viết Calligraphy và chụp hình rồi gửi cho năm người bạn. Đây có thể xem như là gửi postcard mà chỉ có mặt chữ, không có mặt hình. Ban đầu, tôi định sẽ thiết kế hẳn mặt hình riêng cho từng người và gửi kèm cùng mặt chữ nhưng vì thời gian không cho phép, rốt cuộc, tôi không thể thực hiện việc này.

Ở tuần 9:

Read your morning pages! This process is best undertaken with two colored markers, one to highlight insights and another to highlight actions needed. Do not judge your pages or yourself. This is very important. Yes, they will be boring. Yes, they may be painful. Consider them a map. Take them as information, not an indictment.

Lí do: tôi không có thời gian để đọc lại những gì mình đã viết. Chữ viết tay của tôi cũng rất xấu, nó khiến chính tôi mất kiên nhẫn và hứng thú khi đọc những dòng nguệch ngoạc mình viết. Phần lớn, những gì tôi viết trong morning page đều là than thở và những cảm xúc tiêu cực. Vì vậy, chỉ cần tưởng tượng việc sẽ đọc lại nó cũng đủ khiến tôi cảm thấy ngán ngẩm. Hơn nữa, nhiệm vụ này còn phải thực hiện với hai cây bút dạ quang, vừa đọc vừa bôi lại theo tiêu chí riêng. Tôi đã chọn màu xanh dương để bôi lại những đoạn thể hiện suy nghĩ bên trong của mình, màu vàng cho những đoạn tôi cảm thấy cần phải hành động để thay đổi điều gì đó. Kết quả là màu xanh dương lấn át hẳn màu vàng. Tôi hầu như suy nghĩ, than thở, buồn bã rất nhiều trước khi đưa ra giải pháp nào đó. Với tôi, nhiệm vụ đọc morning page là khó nhằn nhất trong The Artist’s Way. Tôi đã không thể hoàn thành nhiệm vụ này trong suốt 12 tuần thực hiện The Artist’s Way. Tôi chỉ vừa hoàn thành việc đọc lại chính morning page của mình và highlight vào ngày 15.9. Cũng vì muốn hoàn thành cho xong nhiệm vụ còn dang dở này mà đến tận bây giờ, tôi mới viết được bài chia sẻ về The Artist’s Way.

Favourite quote

tumblr_nwji6ndi8x1u79s9qo1_1280
Illustrated by Kate Zakrzewska

“Exercise teaches the reward of process. It teaches the sense of satisfaction over small tasks well done.”

“Silence, a blue sky, a black ribbon of highway, God, and the wind. When I ride, especially at dusk and at early morning, I feel God. I am able to meditate more in motion than sitting still. Being alone, having the freedom to go wherever I want, having the wind blow, riding alone in that wind, allows me to center myself. I feel God so closely that my spirit sings.”

“It is the willlingness to once more be a beginner that distinguishes a creative career. “

“When we are ogling the accomplishments of others, we take our eyes away from our own through line. We ask ourselves the wrong questions, and those wrong questions give us the wrong answers.”

“Understand that the what must come before the how. First choose what you would do. The how usually falls into place of itself.”

“The reward for attention is always healing. It may begin as the healing of a particular pain—the lost lover, the sickly child, the shattered dream. But what is healed, finally, is the pain that underlies all pain: the pain that we are all, as Rilke phrases it, “unutterably alone.” More than anything else, attention is an act of connection.”

“Remember that in order to recover as an artist, you must be willing to be a bad artist. Give yourself permission to be a beginner. By being willing to be a bad artist, you have a chance to be an artist, and perhaps, over time, a very good one.”

Share

a1kpbdhhdcl
Illustrated by Kate Zakrzewska

Bằng việc hoàn thành bài viết này, cuối cùng, tôi đã kết thúc khóa học The Artist’s Way. Tôi rất vui vì điều này. Trong suốt thời gian thực hành The Artist’s Way, có nhiều nỗi buồn nhưng cũng có nhiều niềm vui và điều bất ngờ đã đến với tôi. Tôi sẽ luôn trân quí khoảng thời gian ba tháng đó. Những ngày sắp tới, tôi tự hứa với mình sẽ thật chăm chỉ đọc sách. Tôi hi vọng tôi có thể giữ được lời hứa ấy. Dưới đây là đường link download quyển The Artist’s Way. Hi vọng, quyển sách này cũng sẽ giúp ích cho các bạn.

Download:
https://mega.nz/#!mIcDhAgR!mhu9euKFk1vGQyfADhbksPPrRzoLuc7C-mB9_zZStfk

hoặc
https://cloudup.com/cnT1iFpsd4S

Kodaki
10:07 pm
18.9.2016

Leave a Reply

